Postdoctoral researchers

Dr. Juan Pedro Fernández

Position: Senior Research Associate
Education: Ph.D.: Chemistry, Polymer Science, Complutense University of Madrid, Spain
Research: Multifunctional Nanocomposites.
Email: juanpedro.fernandez@imdea.org

Dr. Miguel Monclús

Position: Senior Research Associate
Education: Ph.D.: Electronic Engineering, Dublin City University, Ireland
Research: Micro- and Nano-Mechanics.
Email: miguel.monclus@imdea.org

Dr. Mónica Echeverry Rendón

Position: Senior Research Associate
Education: Ph.D.: Medical Science, University of Antioquia, Colombia, & University of Groningen, The Netherlands
Research: Biomaterials for tissue engineering.
Email: monica.echeverry@imdea.org

Dr. Anastasiia Mikhalchan

Position: Senior Research Associate
Education: Ph.D.: Chemical Process Technology, Saint-Petersburg State University of Technology and Design, Russia
Research: Structural composites based on carbon nanotube fibres.
Email: anastasiia.mikhalchan@imdea.org

Dr. Juan Guillermo Santos Macías

Position: Research Engineer
Education: Ph.D.: Engineering and Technology Sciences, UCLouvain, Belgium
Research: Additive manufacturing of advanced metallic alloys.
Email: guillermo.santos@imdea.org

Dr. René Pernas

Position: Visiting Research Associate
Education: Ph.D.: Physics, Autonomous University of Morelos, Mexico
Research: Acoustic and mechanical metamaterials.
Email: rene.pernas@imdea.org

Dr. Raquel Sánchez Díaz

Position: Visiting Research Associate
Education: Ph.D.: Biomaterials and Tissue Engineering, Queensland University of Technology, Australia
Research: Developing new technologies in the healthcare field.
Email: raquel.sanchez@imdea.org

Dr. Jingran Liu

Position: Research Associate
Education: Ph.D.: Mechanics, Xi'an Jiaotong University, China
Research: Acoustic and mechanical metamaterials
Email: jingran.liu@imdea.org

Dr. Zahid Ali Zafar

Position: Research Associate
Education: Ph.D.: Physical Chemistry, Charles University, Czechia
Research: Study of Si anodes, synthesis of cathodes, assembly of gen 3b cells
Email: zahid.ali@imdea.org

Dr. Monsur Islam

Position: Research Associate
Education: Ph.D.: Mechanical Engineering, Clemson University, USA
Research: 3D printing of pyrolytic and graphitic carbon materials.
Email: monsur.islam@imdea.org

Dr. Lucía Doyle

Position: Research Associate
Education: Ph.D.: Engineering and Materials Science, HafenCity University, Germany
Research: The manufacturing of functionally graded porous Polyether ether ketone (PEEK).
Email: lucia.doyle@imdea.org

Dr. Phuong Thúy Vo

Position: Research Associate
Education: Ph.D.: Computational Chemistry, University of New South Wales, Australia
Research: Relationships between chemical structures and their properties.
Email: phuong.thuy@imdea.org

Dr. Arnab Ghosh

Position: Research Associate
Education: Ph.D.: High Performance Polymer Nanocomposites, IITB-Monash University Research Academy, Australia/India
Research: Fire-safe lithium-ion batteries.
Email: arnab.ghosh@imdea.org

Dr. Jayachandran Subbian

Position: Research Associate
Education: Pd.D.: Mechanical Engineering, Indian Institute of Technology Indore, India
Research: Shape memory alloys.
Email: jayachandran.subbian@imdea.org

Dr. Adrián Bouzas Muñoz

Position: Research Associate
Education: Ph.D.: Biomedical Sciences, Autonomous University of Madrid, Spain
Research: The development of medical devices.
Email: adrian.bouzas@imdea.org

Dr. Souvik Sahoo

Position: Research Associate
Education: Ph.D.: Material Science and Engineer, Indian Institute of Technology Kharagpur, India
Research: Mechanical properties of lattice structures.
Email: souvik.sahoo@imdea.org

Dr. Adrián Dante Boccardo

Position: Research Associate
Education: Ph.D.: Computational Mechanics, National University of Cordoba, Argentina
Research: Computational phase field modelling.
Email: adrian.boccardo@imdea.org

Dr. Maria de Nicolás Morillas

Position: Research Associate
Education: Ph.D.: Materials Science and Engineering, Carlos III University of Madrid, Spain
Research: Additive manufacturing and hydrogen storage.
Email: maria.denicolas@imdea.org

Dr. Mohammad Ali Jabbari

Position: Research Associate
Education: Ph.D.: Powder Metallurgy of light alloys, Carlos III University of Madrid, Spain
Research: Powder metallurgy of ferrous alloys.
Email: mohammad.jabbari@imdea.org

Dr. Valentin Vassilev Galindo

Position: Research Associate
Education: Ph.D.: Physics, University of Luxembourg
Research: Theoretical Chemical Physics and Machine Learning.
Email: valentin.vassilev@imdea.org

Dr. Pedro José Díaz

Position: Research Associate
Education: Ph.D.: Regenerative Medicine, Trinity College Dublin, Ireland
Research: 4D printing applications with biodegradable metals.
Email: pedrojose.diaz@imdea.org

Dr. Carlos Ruestes

Position: Research Associate
Education: Ph.D.: Engineering, Cuyo National University, Argentina
Research: Multiscale simulation of nano-porous tungsten under irradiation damage.
Email: carlos.ruestes@imdea.org

Dr. Jesús Ordoño

Position: Research Associate
Education: Ph.D.: Biomedical Engineering, Technical University of Catalonia, Spain
Research: Biological evaluation of metalmaterial printing using shape memory alloys.
Email: jesus.ordono@imdea.org

Dr. Davide Mocerino

Position: Research Associate
Education: Ph.D.: Industrial Production Engineering Technology, University of Naples Federico II, Italy
Research: Manufacturing of structural composites by resin injection.
Email: davide.mocerino@imdea.org

Dr. Christina Schenk

Position: Research Associate
Education: Ph.D.: Mathematics, Trier University, Germany
Research: Modelling of pandemics and machine learning for diffusive control.
Email: christina.schenk@imdea.org

Dr. Bruno F. Gomes

Position: Research Associate
Education: Ph.D.: Biomaterials, Udine University, Italy
Research: Nanoparticles and microparticles for therapeutic applications.
Email: bruno.gomes@imdea.org

Dr. Viktoriia Sevostianova

Position: Research Associate
Education: Ph.D.: Medical Sciences, Research Institute for Complex Issues of Cardiovascular Diseases, Russia
Research: 3D in vitro models of airway tissues.
Email: viktoriia.sevostianova@imdea.org

Dr. Pedro J. Navarrete

Position: Research Associate
Education: Ph.D.: Engineering, Touluse University, France
Research: Proof-of-concept of a 3-dimensional multi-organoid-loaded bioinspired adhesive device for thymic tissue regeneration.
Email: pedro.navarrete@imdea.org

Dr. Alireza Rezaei

Position: Research Associate
Education: Ph.D.: Materials Science and Engineerings, Tehran University, Iran
Research: New aspects of physical/mechanical metallurgy
Email: alireza.rezaei@imdea.org

Dr. Sunan Tian

Position: Research Associate
Education: Ph.D.: Materials Science and Engineering, Tsinghua University, China
Research: High performance polymers and fire retardants
Email: sunan.tian@imdea.org

Dr. David Tilve Martínez

Position: Research Associate
Education: Ph.D.: 3D printing and electromagnetic properties of conductive nanocomposites, Paul Pascal Research Center, Bourdeaux
Research: Liquid processing of nanowires
Email: david.tilve@imdea.org

Dr. Pietro Antonio Martelli

Position: Research Associate
Education: Ph.D.: Materials Science and Engineering, Polytechnic University of Turin, Italy
Research: Characterisation of steels processed with additive manufacturing.
Email: pietro.martelli@imdea.org

Dr. Mahdi Sabbaghian

Position: Research Associate
Education: Ph.D.: Materials Science and Engineering, University of Tehran, Iran
Research: Biodegradable magnesium alloys which fabricated by additive manufacturing
Email: mahdi.sabbaghian@imdea.org

Dr. Muzi Li

Position: Research Associate
Education: Ph.D.: Engineering, Imperial College London, UK
Research: Microstructural and micromechanical characterisation.
Email: muzi.li@imdea.org

Dr. Juan Alberto Meza

Position: Research Associate
Education: Ph.D.: Materials Science and Engineering, Carlos III University of Madrid, Spain
Research: Powder metallurgy.
Email: juanalberto.meza@imdea.org

Dr. Afshin Pendashteh

Position: Research Associate
Education: Ph.D.: Analytical Chemistry, Tarbiat Modares Univesity, Iran
Research: Development of nanostructured electrodes for lithium ion batteries.
Email: afshin.pendashteh@imdea.org

Dr. Thomas Isensee

Position: Research Associate
Education: PhD.: Material Science, Polytechnic University of Madrid, Spain
Research: Computational modeling and simulation of alloy casting processes
Email: thomas.isensee@imdea.org

Dr. María Eugenia Nieto

Position: Research Associate
Education: Ph.D.: Engineering of Structures, Fundations and Materials, Technical University of Madrid, Spain
Research: Effect of grain boundaries on the deformation and fracture of metal polycrystals
Email: eugenia.nieto@imdea.org