Predoctoral researchers

Gabriel Zarzoso

Research Line: Research Assistant
Education: M.Sc.: Technical University of Madrid, Spain
Research: Microstructure based simulations of fatigue and fracture of polycrystalline metals
Email: gabriel.zarzoso@imdea.org

Alessia Cosenza

Research Line: Research Assistant
Education: M.Sc.: Technical University of Milan, Italy
Research: Development of 3D In Vitro Models of Airway Tissues for COVID-19 Research
Email: alessia.cosenza@imdea.org

Miguel Hernández

Research Line: Research Assistant
Education: M.Sc.: Technical University of Madrid, Spain
Research: Development and application of software tools for analysis of dynamic porosity in porous polymer materials
Email: miguel.hernandez@imdea.org

Jose Mancias

Research Line: Research Assistant
Education: B.Sc: University of Illinois, USA
Research: Computational design of metallic alloys for additive manufacturing
Email: jose.mancias@imdea.org

Shuanglan Du

Research Line: Research Assistant
Education: M.Sc: Sichuan University, China
Research: Marine-derived chitosan-based thermosensitive hydrogelsand their applications in anti-aging
Email: shuanglan.du@imdea.org

Shegufta Tahsin Upama

Research Line: Research Assistant
Education: B.Sc: University of Houston-Main Campus, Texas, USA
Research: High-performance composites based on CNT fibres and ceramic matrices
Email: shegufta.upama@imdea.org

Mingyang Zhang

Research Line: Research Assistant
Education: MSc. University of Science and Technology of China, China
Research: New generation fire retardant materials for Lithium-ion battery
Email: mingyang.zhang@imdea.org

Xiang Ao

Research Line: Research Assistant
Education: M.Sc.: Donghua University, China
Research: Fire behaviors of composite materials
Email: xiang.ao@imdea.org

J. David Aveiga

Research Line: Research Assistant
Education: M.Sc: Universidad de Sao Paulo, Brasil
Research: Prepreg thermoforming modelling
Email: jorgedavid.aveiga@imdea.org

Shruti Banait

Research Line: Research Assistant
Education: M.Sc: Technological University of Lonere, India
Research: Additive manufacturing of lattice structures
Email: shruti.banait@imdea.org

Miguel Castillón de Miguel

Research Line: Research assistant
Education: M.Eng.: Politechnic University of Madrid, Spain
Research: Application of phase-field models to materials science
Email: miguel.castillon.demiguel@imdea.org

Ángela Castro

Research Line: Research assistant
Education: M.Eng.: Complutense University of Madrid, Spain
Research: Novel hydrogels to support cell growth and differentiation for 3D bioprinting and tissue engineering applications
Email: angela.castro@imdea.org

Lucía Cobian

Research Line: Research Assistant
Education: M.Eng.: Technical University of Madrid, Spain
Research: Testing and simulation of AM fabricated lattice materials
Email: lucia.cobian@imdea.org

Óscar Roberto Contreras

Research Line: Research assistant
Education: M. Eng.:Autonomous University of Madrid, Spain
Research: Combinatorial synthesis and high-throughput characterization
Email: oscar.contreras@imdea.org

Juan Luis de Pablos

Research Line: Research Assistant
Education: M.Tech.: Technical University of Madrid, Spain
Research: Material characterisation at high strain rates and temperatures
Email: juanluis.pablos@imdea.org

Guillermo Domínguez

Research Line: Research assistant
Education: M.Bio.: Imperial College of London
Research: Development of biodegradable metallic alloys for biomedical applications
Email: guillermo.dominguez@imdea.org

Yanyan Duan

Research Line: Research Assistant
Education: M.Eng.: University of Chinese Academy of Sciences, China
Research: Intrinsic white emitting materials for lighting
Email: yanyan.duan@imdea.org

Ignacio Escobar

Research Line: Technical assistant – electrical systems
Education: MEng. Cranfield University, United Kingdom
Research: Study of the microstructure and properties of high temperature alloys processed by additive manufacturing
Email: ignacio.escobar@imdea.org

Seyed Mohammad Elahi

Research Line: Research Assistant
Education: M.Eng: Shiraz University of Technology, Iran
Research: Finite element modeling of SLM additive manufacturing
Email: mohammad.elahi@imdea.org

Jonathan Espinoza

Research Line: Research assistant
Education: M. Eng.: Complutense University of Madrid, Spain
Research: Advanced and in situ characterization of the mechanical behavior of materials
Email: jonathan.espinoza@imdea.org

Joaquín Fernández

Research Line: Research Assistant
Education: M.Sc: Oberta of Catalonia University, Spain
Research: Digital technologies for manufacturing of structural composites
Email: joaquin.fernandez@imdea.org

Javier García Labanda

Research Line: Technical assitant – electrical systems
Education: MEng. Malaga University, Spain
Research: Nanofabrication of materials, energy storage and mechanical and process characterization.
Email: javier.garcialabanda@imdea.org

Javier García Pérez

Research Line: Research assistant
Education: M.Eng.: Lulea Technical University and Technical University of Cataluña, Spain
Research: Hydrogels and Nanocomposites for Tissue Engineering and Regenerative Medicine
Email: javier.garciaperez@imdea.org

Andrea Gómez

Research Line: Research assistant
Education: M.Eng.: Technical University of Madrid, Spain
Research: Design of Lightweight Steels for Industrial Applications
Email: andrea.gomez@imdea.org

José Agustín Hobson

Research Line: Research Assistant
Education: M.Sc: Carlos III of Madrid University, Spain
Research: Fire behaviors of polymer
Email: jose.hobson@imdea.org

Thomas Isensee

Research Line: Research Assistant
Education: M.Sc.: Leipzig University, Germany
Research: Multiscale modeling of dendritic growth in metallic alloys
Email: thomas.isensee@imdea.org

Seyed Abbas Jamali

Research Line: Research assistant
Education: M.Eng.: University Of Tehran, Iran
Research: Fatigue of Mg alloys
Email: seyedabbas.jamali@imdea.org

Elaheh Kazemi Khasragh

Research Line: Research assistant
Education: M.Eng: K.N.Toosi University of Technology, Iran
Research: Data-driven development of polymer-based composites
Email: elaheh.kazemi@imdea.org

Keayvan Keramati

Research Line: Research Assistant
Education: M.Sc: University of Science and Technology, of Tehran, Iran
Research: Modeling and processing of composite materials
Email: keayvan.keramati@imdea.org

Xiaolu Li

Research Line: Research Assistant
Education: M.Sc.: Beijing Institute of Printing Technology, China
Research: Functional properties of polymeric fabrics
Email: xiaolu.li@imdea.org

Yuyao Liu

Research Line: Research Assistant
Education: M. Sc.: Southwest University, China
Research: New generation biodegradable polymers in tissue engineering
Email: yuyao.liu@imdea.org

Iker Lizarralde

Research Line: Visiting Research Assistant
Education: BEng: Polytechnic University of Madrid, Spain
Research: Composite Materials
Email: iker.lizarralde@imdea.org

Ignacio López

Research Line: Research Assistant
Education: M.Eng.: Denmarks Technical University, Denmark
Research: Mechanical properties of hard coatings
Email: ignacio.lopez@imdea.org

Cristina Madrona

Research Line: Research Assistant
Education: M.Eng: Carlos III University, Spain
Research: Low dimensional properties of CNT fibers
Email: cristina.madrona@imdea.org

María Dolores Martín

Research Line: Research assistant
Education: M.Sc.: Complutense University of Madrid, Spain
Research: Biodegradable Mg based scaffolds for tissue engineering
Email: mariadolores.martin@imdea.org

Carmen Martínez

Research Line: Research assistant
Education: M.Eng.: International University Menéndez Pelayo - CSIC, Spain
Research: Catalyst design based on elastic strain engineering
Email: carmen.martinez@imdea.org

Álvaro Méndez

Research Line: Visiting Research Assistant
Education: M.Sc.: Technical University of Madrid, Spain
Research: Hard Coating
Email: alvaro.mendez@imdea.org

Mohib Mustafa

Research Line: Research assistant
Education: M.Eng: Stuttgart University, Germany
Research: Lattice material simulation
Email: mohib.mustafa@imdea.org

María Eugenia Nieto

Research Line: Research assistant
Education: M.Eng.: Technical University of Madrid, Spain
Research: Effect of grain boundaries on the deformation and fracture of metal polycrystals
Email: eugenia.nieto@imdea.org

Isabel Olaya

Research Line: Research assistant
Education: M.Eng.: Technical University of Madrid, España
Research: Development of a new PM CoNi based superalloy based on Sustainable Metallurgy requirements
Email: isabel.olaya@imdea.org

Akshya Kumar Pandey

Research Line: Research Assistant
Education: M.Sc: Technical University of Darmstadt, Germany
Research: Composite Materials
Email: akshya.pandey@imdea.org

Carolina Pereira

Research Line: Research assistant
Education: M.Eng.: NOVA University Lisbon, Portugal
Research: Biodegradable textile scaffolds for biomedical applications
Email: carolina.pereira@imdea.org

Chandrashekhar Machhindra Pilgar

Research Line: Research Assistant
Education: M.Tech. Indian Institute of Technology of Bombay, India
Research: Micromechanical modeling of Ni-based superalloys
Email: chandrashekhar.pilgar@imdea.org

Syed Wahaaj Ali Rizvi

Research Line: Research Assistant
Education: M.Eng.: Chung Ang University, Corea
Research: Composite Materials for biological implant applications
Email: syed.rizvi@imdea.org

Ignacio Rodríguez

Research Line: Research assistance
Education: M.Eng.: Lorraine University, France
Research: Additive manufacturing of nickel superalloys
Email: ignacio.rodriguez@imdea.org

Donfeng Shi

Research Line: Research Assistant
Education: M.Eng: Chongqing University, China
Research: Magnesium alloys
Email: dongfeng.shi@imdea.org

Venkatesh Sivagnana Desigan

Research Line: Research assistant
Education: M.Sc. University of Illinois, United States
Research: Powder Metallurgy
Email: venkatesh.sivagnana@imdea.org

Andrés Sierra

Research Line: Research Assistant
Education: M.Eng.: Technical University of Madrid, Spain
Research: Development of new martensitic stainless steels
Email: andres.sierra@imdea.org

Cillian Thompson

Research Line: Research Assistant
Education: M.Sc: National University of Ireland, Ireland
Research: 3D printed bioabsorbable composite materials for orthopaedic applications
Email: cillian.thompson@imdea.org

Jorge Valilla

Research Line: Research assistant
Education: Double M.Sc.Eng: Luleå University of Technology, Sweden and Technical University of Catalonia, Spain
Research: Physical and computational simulation of multi-material additive manufacturing
Email: jorge.valilla@imdea.org

Junchen Xiao

Research Line: Research assistant
Education: M.Sc.: Dresden Technical University, Germany
Research: Functional polymers
Email: junchen.xiao@imdea.org

Moisés Zarzoso

Research Line: Research Assistant
Education: M.Eng.: Technical University of Madrid, Spain
Research: Modelling of Structural Composites
Email: moises.zarzoso@imdea.org