People

Ángela de la Camacha

Position: Visiting Research Assistant
Education: M.Sc.: Engineering and Materials Science, the Carlos III University of Madrid, Spain
Research: The additive manufacture of bioabsorbable scaffolds.
Email: angela.delacamacha@imdea.org

Almudena Gutiérrez

Position: Research Assistant
Education: B.Sc.: Chemistry, The Complutense University of Madrid, Spain
Research: The development of advanced steels.
Email: almudena.gutierrez@imdea.org

Milan Dunic

Position: Research Assistant
Education: M.Sc.: Electrochemical Engineering, University of Belgrade, Serbia
Research: The development of flexible Li-ion batteries tailored for implantable devices.
Email: milan.dunic@imdea.org

Dr. Juan Pedro Fernández

Position: Senior Research Associate
Education: Ph.D.: Complutense University of Madrid, Spain
Research: Multifunctional Nanocomposites.
Email: juanpedro.fernandez@imdea.org

Dr. Miguel Monclús

Position: Senior Research Associate
Education: Ph.D.: Dublin City University, Ireland
Research: Micro- and Nano-Mechanics.
Email: miguel.monclus@imdea.org

Dr. Mónica Echeverry Rendón

Position: Senior Research Associate
Education: Ph.D.: University of Antioquia, Colombia, & University of Groningen, The Netherlands
Research: Biomaterials for tissue engineering.
Email: monica.echeverry@imdea.org

Dr. Anastasiia Mikhalchan

Position: Senior Research Associate
Education: Ph.D.: Saint-Petersburg State University of Technology and Design, Russia
Research: Structural composites based on carbon nanotube fibres.
Email: anastasiia.mikhalchan@imdea.org

Dr. Miguel Vázquez

Position: Senior Research Associate
Education: Ph.D.: Universidad de Washington en St. Louis, EEUU
Research: Synthesis of nanostructured materials.
Email: miguel.vazquez@imdea.org

Dr. René Pernas

Position: Visiting Research Associate
Education: Ph.D.: Autonomous University of Morelos, Mexico
Research: Acoustic and mechanical metamaterials.
Email: rene.pernas@imdea.org

Dr. Raquel Sánchez Díaz

Position: Visiting Research Associate
Education: Ph.D.: Biomaterials and Tissue Engineering, Queensland University of Technology, Australia
Research: Developing new technologies in the healthcare field.
Email: raquel.sanchez@imdea.org

Dr. Monsur Islam

Position: Research Associate
Education: Ph.D.: Mechanical Engineering, Clemson University, USA
Research: 3D printing of pyrolytic and graphitic carbon materials.
Email: monsur.islam@imdea.org

Dr. Lucía Doyle

Position: Research Associate
Education: Ph.D.: Engineering and Materials Science, HafenCity University, Germany
Research: The manufacturing of functionally graded porous Polyether ether ketone (PEEK).
Email: lucia.doyle@imdea.org

Dr. Phuong Thúy Vo

Position: Research Associate
Education: Ph.D.: Computational Chemistry, University of New South Wales, Australia
Research: Relationships between chemical structures and their properties.
Email: phuong.thuy@imdea.org

Dr. Arnab Ghosh

Position: Research Associate
Education: Ph.D.: IITB-Monash University Research Academy, Australia/India
Research: Fire-safe lithium-ion batteries.
Email: arnab.ghosh@imdea.org

Dr. Jayachandran Subbian

Position: Research Associate
Education: Pd.D.: Mechanical Engineering, Indian Institute of Technology Indore, India
Research: Shape memory alloys.
Email: jayachandran.subbian@imdea.org

Dr. Adrián Bouzas Muñoz

Position: Research Associate
Education: Ph.D.: Biomedical Sciences, Autonomous University of Madrid, Spain
Research: The development of medical devices.
Email: adrian.bouzas@imdea.org

Dr. Souvik Sahoo

Position: Research Associate
Education: Ph.D.: Indian Institute of Technology Kharagpur, India
Research: Mechanical properties of lattice structures.
Email: souvik.sahoo@imdea.org

Dr. Adrián Dante Boccardo

Position: Research Associate
Education: Ph.D.: Computational Mechanics, National University of Cordoba, Argentina
Research: Computational phase field modelling.
Email: adrian.boccardo@imdea.org

Dr. Maria de Nicolás Morillas

Position: Research Associate
Education: Ph.D.: Materials Science and Engineering, Carlos III University of Madrid, Spain
Research: Additive manufacturing and hydrogen storage.
Email: maria.denicolas@imdea.org

Ignacio Delgado

Position: Visiting Research Assistant
Education: M.S.c.: Tampere University, Finland
Research: Characterisation, optimisation and improvement of polymers used in clear aligner therapy
Email: ignacio.delgado@imdea.org

Dr. Mohammad Ali Jabbari

Position: Research Associate
Education: Ph.D.: Powder Metallurgy of light alloys, Carlos III University of Madrid, Spain
Research: Powder metallurgy of ferrous alloys.
Email: mohammed.jabbari@imdea.org

Alberto Vicente

Position: Research support
Education: M.Sc.: Universidad Internacional de Valencia
Research: Machine learning
Email: alberto.vicente@imdea.org

Dr. Valentin Vassilev Galindo

Position: Research Associate
Education: Ph.D.: Physics, University of Luxembourg
Research: Theoretical Chemical Physics and Machine Learning.
Email: valentin.vassilev@imdea.org

Dr. Pedro José Díaz

Position: Research Associate
Education: Ph.D.: Trinity College Dublin, Ireland
Research: 4D printing applications with biodegradable metals.
Email: pedrojose.diaz@imdea.org

Jingyi Zhang

Position: Research Assistant
Education: M.Sc: Beijing Institute of Technolgoy
Research: Acoustic topology and gauge theory
Email: jingyi.zhang@imdea.org

Arley Garcia

Position: Research Assistant
Education: Technical University of Madrid (UPM)
Research: Thin films by high power impulse magnetron sputtering and Rf for cutting tools.
Email: arley.garcia@imdea.org

Sergei Zorkaltsev

Position: Research Assistant
Education: M.Sc.: Skolkovo Institute of Science and Technology
Research: 3D printing of porous metal structures designed with the aid of machine learning
Email: sergei.zorkaltsev@imdea.org

Paul Williams

Position: Research Support
Education: Chemistry Degree
Research: Design of new catalysts for hydrogen economy using elastic strain engineering and machine learning
Email: paul.williams@imdea.org

Burcu Ozdemir

Position: Research Assistant
Education: M.Sc.: Istanbul Technical University
Research: Advanced nanocomposites with enhanced fire-resistance and improved mechanical properties
Email: burcu.ozdemir@imdea.org

Nabil Abomailek

Position: Research Assistant
Education: M.Sc.: Autonoma University, Barcelona
Research: Universal processing route for high-performance nanostructured yarns
Email: nabil.abomailek@imdea.org

Elena Sánchez

Position: Research Assistant
Education: M. Sc.: Complutense University of Madrid
Research: Materials for energy storage applications
Email: elena.sanchez@imdea.org

Carlota Corchado

Position: Biomaterials and Cell Culture Laboratory Technician
Education: VT: Anatomic Pathology and Cytodiagnostic Technician
Email: carlota.corchado@imdea.org

Blanca Limones

Position: Research Support
Education: M.Sc.: Complutense University of Madrid
Email: blanca.limones@imdea.org

Jorge Redondo

Position: Research Assistant
Education: M.Sc.: Complutense University, Madrid
Research: Combinatoria processing
Email: jorge.redondo@imdea.org

Alba Pascual

Position: Research Support
Education: M.Sc.: Sevilla University, Spain
Email: alba.pascual@imdea.org

Rafael Tomey

Position: Research Support
Education: M.Sc.: Autonoma University, Madrid, Spain
Email: rafael.tomey@imdea.org

Juan León

Position: Research Support
Education: M.Sc.: University of Sevilla, Spain
Email: juan.leon@imdea.org

Lucía Echevarría

Position: Research Support
Education: M.Sc.: Complutense University, Madrid
Email: lucia.echevarria@imdea.org

Dr. Carlos Ruestes

Position: Research Associate
Education: Ph.D.: Cuyo National University, Argentina
Research: Multiscale simulation of nano-porous tungsten under irradiation damage.
Email: carlos.ruestes@imdea.org

Dr. Jesús Ordoño

Position: Research Associate
Education: Ph.D.: Technical University of Catalonia, Spain
Research: Biological evaluation of metalmaterial printing using shape memory alloys.
Email: jesus.ordono@imdea.org

Saumya Sadanand

Position: Research Assistant
Education: M. Sc.: Technical University of Darmstadt, Germany
Research: Processing, characterization and mechanical testing
Email: saumya.sadanand@imdea.org

Mónica Sales

Position: Cutting and machining of test specimens lab technician
Education: VT: Machining Technician
Email: monica.sales@imdea.org

Marcos Rodríguez Sánchez

Position: Research Assistant
Education: M. Sc.: Technical University of Eindhoven
Research: Additive manufacturing of soft magnetic materials
Email: marcos.rodriguez@imdea.org

Dr. Davide Mocerino

Position: Research Associate
Education: M.Eng.: University of Naples Federico II, Italy
Research: Manufacturing of structural composites by resin injection.
Email: davide.mocerino@imdea.org

Miguel Hernández

Position: Research Assistant
Education: M.Sc.: Technical University of Madrid, Spain
Research: Development and application of software tools for analysis of dynamic porosity in porous polymer materials
Email: miguel.hernandez@imdea.org

Dr. Christina Schenk

Position: Research Associate
Education: Ph.D.: Trier University, Germany
Research: Modelling of pandemics and machine learning for diffusive control.
Email: christina.schenk@imdea.org

José Mancias

Position: Research Assistant
Education: B.Sc: University of Illinois, USA
Research: Computational design of metallic alloys for additive manufacturing
Email: jose.mancias@imdea.org

Dr. Bruno F. Gomes

Position: Research Associate
Education: Ph.D.: Udine University, Italy
Research: Nanoparticles and micropartcles for therapeutic applications.
Email: bruno.gomes@imdea.org

Dr. Viktoriia Sevostianova

Position: Research Associate
Education: Ph.D.: Medical Sciences, Research Institute for Complex Issues of Cardiovascular Diseases, Russia
Research: 3D in vitro models of airway tissues.
Email: viktoriia.sevostianova@imdea.org

Dr. Pedro J. Navarrete

Position: Research Associate
Education: Ph.D.: Touluse University, France
Research: Proof-of-concept of a 3-dimensional multi-organoid-loaded bioinspired adhesive device for thymic tissue regeneration.
Email: pedro.navarrete@imdea.org

Shuanglan Du

Position: Research Assistant
Education: M.Sc: Sichuan University, China
Research: Marine-derived chitosan-based thermosensitive hydrogelsand their applications in anti-aging
Email: shuanglan.du@imdea.org

Mingyang Zhang

Position: Research Assistant
Education: MSc. University of Science and Technology of China, China
Research: New generation fire retardant materials for Lithium-ion battery
Email: mingyang.zhang@imdea.org

Xiang Ao

Position: Research Assistant
Education: M.Sc.: Donghua University, China
Research: Fire behaviors of composite materials
Email: xiang.ao@imdea.org

Dr. Manuel Avella

Position: Electron microscopy of advanced materials
Education: Ph.D: University of Valladolid, Spain
Email: manuel.avella@imdea.org

José Manuel Torralba

Position: Sustainable Powder Technologies
Education: PhD: Technical University of Madrid & PhD: Army Advanced Technical School
Email: josemanuel.torralba@imdea.org

Dr. Covadonga Rosado

Position: Manager
Education: MBA: ICADE Business School, Spain / PhD: Dechema e.V., Germany / Complutense University of Madrid, Spain
Email: covadonga.rosado@imdea.org

Rosa María Bazán

Position: HR Manager
Education: B.Sc: Complutense University of Madrid, Spain
Email: rosa.bazan@imdea.org

Mar García

Position: Financial manager
Education: B.Econ. and Business Administration, Autonomous University of Madrid / M.Econ-Financial Management, ESADE Business School
Email: mar.garcia@imdea.org

Miguel Angel Rodiel

Position: Director of Projects and Technology
Education: M.Sc. in Chemistry, University of Valencia, Spain / Master in Innovation Management, Technical University of Madrid, Spain

Dr. Germán Infante

Position: Head of the Project Management Office
Education: PhD: Autonomous University of Madrid, Spain
Email: german.infante@imdea.org

Raúl Merchán

Position: IT manager
Email: raul.merchan@imdea.org

Dr. Eduardo Troche

Position: Head of the Technology Transfer and Innovation Office
Education: PhD: University of Vigo, Spain
Email: eduardo.troche@imdea.org

Vanessa Hernán-Gómez

Position: Accounting specialist
Email: vanessa.hernangomez@imdea.org

Mariana Huerta

Position: Public relations and events assistant
Email: mariana.huerta@imdea.org

Ainhoa Zapatero

Position: Administrative assistant
Email: ainhoa.zapatero@imdea.org

Blanca Moríñigo

Position: Project manager assistant
Education: University of Castilla-La Mancha
Email: blanca.morinigo@imdea.org

Silvia Rodríguez

Position: Administrative assistant
Email: silvia.rodriguez@imdea.org

Verónica Galán

Position: Project manager assistant
Education: B.Sc: Granada University, Spain
Email: veronica.galan@imdea.org

Jon Molina

Position: Micromechanics and Nanomechanics
Education: PhD: Universidad de Cambridge, Reino Unido
Email: jon.molina@imdea.org

Javier Llorca

Position: Bio/Chemo/Mechanics of Materials
Education: PhD: Technical University of Madrid, Spain
Email: javier.llorca@imdea.org

Ignacio Romero

Position: Computational Solid Mechanics
Education: PhD: University of California, Berkeley, USA
Email: ignacio.romero@imdea.org

María Teresa Pérez Prado

Position: Sustainable metallurgy
Education: PhD: Complutense University of Madrid. Spain
Email: teresa.perez.prado@imdea.org

Carlos González

Position: Structural Composites
Education: PhD: Technical University of Madrid, Spain
Email: carlosdaniel.gonzalez@imdea.org

Maciej Haranczyk

Position: Computational and Data-Driven Materials Discovery
Education: PhD: University of Gdansk, Poland
Email: maciej.haranczyk@imdea.org

Srdjan Milenkovic

Position: Solidification Processing & Engineering
Education: PhD: University of Campinas. Brazil
Email: srdjan.milenkovic@imdea.org

Ilchat Sabirov

Position: Physical Simulation
Education: PhD: University of Leoben. Austria
Email: ilchat.sabirov@imdea.org

Javier Segurado

Position: Multiscale Materials Modelling
Education: PhD: Universidad Politécnica de Madrid, España
Email: javier.segurado@imdea.org

Juan José Vilatela

Position: Multifunctional Nanocomposites
Education: PhD: University of Cambridge, United Kingdom
Email: juanjose.vilatela@imdea.org

De-Yi Wang

Position: High Performance Polymers and Fire Retardants
Education: PhD: Sichuan University, China
Email: deyi.wang@imdea.org

Federico Sket

Position: In-situ processing and mechanical characterization of materials
Email: federico.sket@imdea.org

Damien Tourret

Position: Modelling and Simulation of Materials Processing
Email: damien.tourret@imdea.org

Jennifer Patterson

Position: Biomaterials and Regenerative Medicine
Email: jennifer.patterson@imdea.org

Luis Arévalo

Position: CNT fibre lab technician
Education: M.Tech.: Technical University of Madrid, Spain
Email: luis.arevalo@imdea.org

Cecilia Salvador

Position: Health and Safety Technician
Education: B.Sc. Autonomus University of Madrid, Spain
Email: cecilia.salvador@imdea.org

Andrés Ballesta

Position: Infrastructure Manager
Education: BEng: Carlos III of Madrid University, Spain
Email: andres.ballesta@imdea.org

Andrew Johnston

Position: Communication Specialist
Education: M. Internal and Corporate Communication. Carlos III University, Madrid.
Email: andrew.johnston@imdea.org

Alicia Montero

Position: Facilities Assistant

Amalia San Román

Position: Metallography fabrication and preparation lab technician
Education: Specialist Technician. Spain
Email: amalia.sanroman@imdea.org

Dr. Javier García

Position: X-ray lab technician
Education: PhD: Rosario National University, Argentina
Email: javier.garcia@imdea.org

Dr. Muzi Li

Position: Research Associate
Education: Ph.D.: Imperial College London, UK
Research: Microstructural and micromechanical characterisation.
Email: muzi.li@imdea.org

Dr. Juan Alberto Meza

Position: Research Associate
Education: Ph.D.: Carlos III University of Madrid, Spain
Research: Powder metallurgy.
Email: juanalberto.meza@imdea.org

Dr. Ahad Mohammadzadeh

Position: Research Associate
Education: Ph.D.: Sahand University of Technology, Iran
Research: Co-Ni superalloys for high temperature applications..
Email: ahad.mohammadzadeh@imdea.org

Dr. Afshin Pendashteh

Position: Research Associate
Education: Ph.D.: Tarbiat Modares Univesity, Iran
Research: Development of nanostructured electrodes for lithium ion batteries.
Email: afshin.pendashteh@imdea.org

Miguel Castillón de Miguel

Position: Research assistant
Education: M.Eng.: Politechnic University of Madrid, Spain
Research: Application of phase-field models to materials science
Email: miguel.castillon.demiguel@imdea.org

Ángela Castro

Position: Research assistant
Education: M.Eng.: Complutense University of Madrid, Spain
Research: Novel hydrogels to support cell growth and differentiation for 3D bioprinting and tissue engineering applications
Email: angela.castro@imdea.org

Lucía Cobian

Position: Research Assistant
Education: M.Eng.: Technical University of Madrid, Spain
Research: Testing and simulation of AM fabricated lattice materials
Email: lucia.cobian@imdea.org

Óscar Roberto Contreras

Position: Research assistant
Education: M. Eng.:Autonomous University of Madrid, Spain
Research: Combinatorial synthesis and high-throughput characterization
Email: oscar.contreras@imdea.org

Guillermo Domínguez

Position: Research assistant
Education: M.Bio.: Imperial College of London
Research: Development of biodegradable metallic alloys for biomedical applications
Email: guillermo.dominguez@imdea.org

Ignacio Escobar

Position: Technical assistant – electrical systems
Education: MEng. Cranfield University, United Kingdom
Research: Study of the microstructure and properties of high temperature alloys processed by additive manufacturing
Email: ignacio.escobar@imdea.org

Jonathan Espinoza

Position: Research assistant
Education: M. Eng.: Complutense University of Madrid, Spain
Research: Advanced and in situ characterization of the mechanical behavior of materials
Email: jonathan.espinoza@imdea.org