People

Diego Iriarte Hernández

Position: Junior Research Engineer
Education: B.Sc.: Physics, Universidad Europea
Research: Optimization of the directional solidification of Ni super alloys single crystal
Email: diego.iriarte@imdea.org

Adrián Cotobal Gómez

Position: Junior Research Engineer
Education: Ms.C.: Aerospace and Mechanical Design, EDDM Engineering Education
Research: Development of high entropy alloys by advanced fabrication techniques
Email: adrian.cotobal@imdea.org

Nafiseh Mollaei

Position: Research Assistant
Education: B.Sc.: Materials Science and Engineering, Iran University of Science and Technology
Research: Additive manufacturing of biomaterials
Email: nafiseh.mollaei@imdea.org

Enrique Dios Lázaro

Position: Junior Research Engineer
Education: B.Sc.: Aerospace Engineering, Carlos III University, Madrid
Research: Polymeric composites manufacturing and testing via robotic platforms
Email: enrique.dios@imdea.org

Raúl Fernández

Position: Junior Research Engineer
Education: B.Sc.: Industrial Engineering, Carlos III University, Madrid
Research: Si anode fabrication scale-up
Email: raul.fernandez@imdea.org

Felipe Lozano

Position: Research Assistant
Education: M.Sc.: Mechanical Engineering, University of Santiago, Chile
Research: The mechanics of nanowire networks materials
Email: felipe.lozano@imdea.org

Sofía Fernández León

Position: Research Assistant
Education: M.Sc.: Applied Artificial Intelligence, Carlos III University, Madrid
Research: Digital Twins for Smart Manufacturing of Structural composites
Email: sofia.fernandez@imdea.org

Wei Tang

Position: Research Assistant
Education: M.Sc.: Polymer Materials and Engineering, Beijing Technology and Business University, China
Research: High flame retardancy and multifunctional polyolefin composites
Email: wei.tang@imdea.org

Giovanni Ortiz Pérez

Position: Research Assistant
Education: Physical Engineering, Technological University of Periera, Colombia
Research: Monitoring techniques within metal additive manufacturing
Email: giovanni.ortiz@imdea.org

Ana Inés de Isidro Gómez

Position: Research Assistant
Education: M.Sc.: Advanced Materials, Nanotechnology and Photonics, Autonomous University of Madrid, Spain
Research: Metamaterials fibres of intercalated bundles
Email: ana.isidro@imdea.org

Yabin Hu

Position: Research Assistant
Education: M.Sc.: Aeronautics, Northwestern Polytechnical University, China
Research: Acoustic and mechanical metamaterials
Email: yabin.hu@imdea.org

Biaobiao Yang

Position: Research Assistant
Education: MS.c.: Materials Science and Engineering, Central South University, Changsha, China
Research: In situ characterisation of deformation and fracture mechanisms in Mg alloys
Email: biaobiao.yang@imdea.org

Raúl de Armas Rodríguez

Position: Research Assistant
Education: MS.c.: Atomistic and multiscale modelling, Barcelona University and the Technical University of Catalunya
Research: Computational modeling of metal oxide nanowire growth
Email: raul.dearmas@imdea.org

Radouan Bouallala

Position: Research Assistant
Education: M.Sc.: Advanced Structural Analysis and Design using Composite Materials, Universities of Girona and Minho
Research: Structural composites modelization
Email: radouan.bouallala@imdea.org

Gabriel Zarzoso

Position: Research Assistant
Education: M.Sc.: Science and Industrial Mathematics, Technical University of Madrid (UPM), Spain
Research: Fatigue and fracture simulations based in microstructure
Email: gabriel.zarsoso@imdea.org

Jorge Cabrejas Marina

Position: Research Engineer
Education: B.Sc.: Engineering and Software Engineering, University of Alcalá, Spain
Research: Automation of analytical tomographic and ultrasound data processes.
Email: jorge.cabrejas@imdea.org

Franck Lopes Ferreira

Position: Research Asistant
Education: M.Sc.: Materials Science and Engineering, University of Poitiers, France
Research: Inorganic Nanowires synthesis by Floating Catalyst Chemical Vapor Deposition (FCCVD).
Email: franck.lopes@imdea.org

Dr. Vanesa Martínez

Position: Laboratory coordinator and specialist in composite materials manufacture and materials mechanical characterization
Education: Ph.D. Materials Science and Engineering: Carlos III University of Madrid, Spain
Email: vanesa.martinez@imdea.org

Sergio de las Heras Morató

Position: Lab Technican
Education: Senior Technician in Electronic Product Development
Email: sergio.delasheras@imdeamaterials.org

María Teresa Nieto Valeiras

Position: Lab Technician
Education: CFGS: Química
Email: teresa.nieto@imdea.org

Ángela de la Camacha

Position: Visiting Research Assistant
Education: M.Sc.: Engineering and Materials Science, the Carlos III University of Madrid, Spain
Research: The additive manufacture of bioabsorbable scaffolds.
Email: angela.delacamacha@imdea.org

Milan Dunic

Position: Research Assistant
Education: M.Sc.: Electrochemical Engineering, University of Belgrade, Serbia
Research: The development of flexible Li-ion batteries tailored for implantable devices.
Email: milan.dunic@imdea.org

Dr. Miguel Monclús

Position: Senior Research Associate
Education: Ph.D.: Dublin City University, Ireland
Research: Micro- and Nano-Mechanics.
Email: miguel.monclus@imdea.org

Dr. Juan Pedro Fernández

Position: Senior Research Associate
Education: Ph.D.: Complutense University of Madrid, Spain
Research: Multifunctional Nanocomposites.
Email: juanpedro.fernandez@imdea.org

Dr. Mónica Echeverry Rendón

Position: Senior Research Associate
Education: Ph.D.: University of Antioquia, Colombia, & University of Groningen, The Netherlands
Research: Biomaterials for tissue engineering.
Email: monica.echeverry@imdea.org

Dr. Anastasiia Mikhalchan

Position: Senior Research Associate
Education: Ph.D.: Saint-Petersburg State University of Technology and Design, Russia
Research: Structural composites based on carbon nanotube fibres.
Email: anastasiia.mikhalchan@imdea.org

Dr. Miguel Vázquez

Position: Senior Research Associate
Education: Ph.D.: Universidad de Washington en St. Louis, EEUU
Research: Synthesis of nanostructured materials.
Email: miguel.vazquez@imdea.org

Dr. Juan Guillermo Santos Macías

Position: Research Engineer
Education: Ph.D.: UCLouvain, Belgium
Research: Additive manufacturing of advanced metallic alloys.
Email: guillermo.santos@imdea.org

Dr. René Pernas

Position: Visiting Research Associate
Education: Ph.D.: Autonomous University of Morelos, Mexico
Research: Acoustic and mechanical metamaterials.
Email: rene.pernas@imdea.org

Dr. Raquel Sánchez Díaz

Position: Visiting Research Associate
Education: Ph.D.: Biomaterials and Tissue Engineering, Queensland University of Technology, Australia
Research: Developing new technologies in the healthcare field.
Email: raquel.sanchez@imdea.org

Dr. Jingran Liu

Position: Research Associate
Education: Ph.D.: Mechanics, Xi'an Jiaotong University, China
Research: Acoustic and mechanical metamaterials
Email: jingran.liu@imdea.org

Marta María Hidalgo

Position: Lab Technician
Education: M.Sc.: Evaluation, Inspection and Quality Control of Materials, Technical University of Madrid, Spain
Email: marta.hidalgo@imdea.org

Dr. Zahid Ali Zafar

Position: Research Associate
Education: Ph.D.: Physical Chemistry, Charles University, Czechia
Research: Study of Si anodes, synthesis of cathodes, assembly of gen 3b cells
Email: zahid.ali@imdea.org

Dr. Monsur Islam

Position: Research Associate
Education: Ph.D.: Mechanical Engineering, Clemson University, USA
Research: 3D printing of pyrolytic and graphitic carbon materials.
Email: monsur.islam@imdea.org

Dr. Lucía Doyle

Position: Research Associate
Education: Ph.D.: Engineering and Materials Science, HafenCity University, Germany
Research: The manufacturing of functionally graded porous Polyether ether ketone (PEEK).
Email: lucia.doyle@imdea.org

Dr. Phuong Thúy Vo

Position: Research Associate
Education: Ph.D.: Computational Chemistry, University of New South Wales, Australia
Research: Relationships between chemical structures and their properties.
Email: phuong.thuy@imdea.org

Dr. Arnab Ghosh

Position: Research Associate
Education: Ph.D.: IITB-Monash University Research Academy, Australia/India
Research: Fire-safe lithium-ion batteries.
Email: arnab.ghosh@imdea.org

Dr. Jayachandran Subbian

Position: Research Associate
Education: Pd.D.: Mechanical Engineering, Indian Institute of Technology Indore, India
Research: Shape memory alloys.
Email: jayachandran.subbian@imdea.org

Dr. Adrián Bouzas Muñoz

Position: Research Associate
Education: Ph.D.: Biomedical Sciences, Autonomous University of Madrid, Spain
Research: The development of medical devices.
Email: adrian.bouzas@imdea.org

Dr. Souvik Sahoo

Position: Research Associate
Education: Ph.D.: Indian Institute of Technology Kharagpur, India
Research: Mechanical properties of lattice structures.
Email: souvik.sahoo@imdea.org

Dr. Adrián Dante Boccardo

Position: Research Associate
Education: Ph.D.: Computational Mechanics, National University of Cordoba, Argentina
Research: Computational phase field modelling.
Email: adrian.boccardo@imdea.org

Dr. Maria de Nicolás Morillas

Position: Research Associate
Education: Ph.D.: Materials Science and Engineering, Carlos III University of Madrid, Spain
Research: Additive manufacturing and hydrogen storage.
Email: maria.denicolas@imdea.org

Ignacio Delgado

Position: Visiting Research Assistant
Education: M.S.c.: Tampere University, Finland
Research: Characterisation, optimisation and improvement of polymers used in clear aligner therapy
Email: ignacio.delgado@imdea.org

Dr. Mohammad Ali Jabbari

Position: Research Associate
Education: Ph.D.: Powder Metallurgy of light alloys, Carlos III University of Madrid, Spain
Research: Powder metallurgy of ferrous alloys.
Email: mohammed.jabbari@imdea.org

Alberto Vicente

Position: Research support
Education: M.Sc.: Universidad Internacional de Valencia
Research: Machine learning
Email: alberto.vicente@imdea.org

Dr. Valentin Vassilev Galindo

Position: Research Associate
Education: Ph.D.: Physics, University of Luxembourg
Research: Theoretical Chemical Physics and Machine Learning.
Email: valentin.vassilev@imdea.org

Dr. Pedro José Díaz

Position: Research Associate
Education: Ph.D.: Trinity College Dublin, Ireland
Research: 4D printing applications with biodegradable metals.
Email: pedrojose.diaz@imdea.org

Jingyi Zhang

Position: Research Assistant
Education: M.Sc: Beijing Institute of Technolgoy
Research: Acoustic topology and gauge theory
Email: jingyi.zhang@imdea.org

Arley Garcia

Position: Research Assistant
Education: Technical University of Madrid (UPM)
Research: Thin films by high power impulse magnetron sputtering and Rf for cutting tools.
Email: arley.garcia@imdea.org

Sergei Zorkaltsev

Position: Research Assistant
Education: M.Sc.: Skolkovo Institute of Science and Technology
Research: 3D printing of porous metal structures designed with the aid of machine learning
Email: sergei.zorkaltsev@imdea.org

Burcu Ozdemir

Position: Research Assistant
Education: M.Sc.: Istanbul Technical University
Research: Advanced nanocomposites with enhanced fire-resistance and improved mechanical properties
Email: burcu.ozdemir@imdea.org

Nabil Abomailek

Position: Research Assistant
Education: M.Sc.: Autonoma University, Barcelona
Research: Universal processing route for high-performance nanostructured yarns
Email: nabil.abomailek@imdea.org

Elena Sánchez

Position: Research Assistant
Education: M. Sc.: Complutense University of Madrid
Research: Materials for energy storage applications
Email: elena.sanchez@imdea.org

Carlota Corchado

Position: Biomaterials and Cell Culture Laboratory Technician
Education: VT: Anatomic Pathology and Cytodiagnostic Technician
Email: carlota.corchado@imdea.org

Blanca Limones

Position: Research Support
Education: M.Sc.: Complutense University of Madrid
Email: blanca.limones@imdea.org

Jorge Redondo

Position: Research Assistant
Education: M.Sc.: Complutense University, Madrid
Research: Combinatoria processing
Email: jorge.redondo@imdea.org

Alba Pascual

Position: Research Support
Education: M.Sc.: Sevilla University, Spain
Email: alba.pascual@imdea.org

Rafael Tomey

Position: Research Support
Education: M.Sc.: Autonoma University, Madrid, Spain
Email: rafael.tomey@imdea.org

Juan León

Position: Research Support
Education: M.Sc.: University of Sevilla, Spain
Email: juan.leon@imdea.org

Dr. Carlos Ruestes

Position: Research Associate
Education: Ph.D.: Cuyo National University, Argentina
Research: Multiscale simulation of nano-porous tungsten under irradiation damage.
Email: carlos.ruestes@imdea.org

Dr. Jesús Ordoño

Position: Research Associate
Education: Ph.D.: Technical University of Catalonia, Spain
Research: Biological evaluation of metalmaterial printing using shape memory alloys.
Email: jesus.ordono@imdea.org

Saumya Sadanand

Position: Research Assistant
Education: M. Sc.: Technical University of Darmstadt, Germany
Research: Processing, characterization and mechanical testing
Email: saumya.sadanand@imdea.org

Mónica Sales

Position: Cutting and machining of test specimens lab technician
Education: VT: Machining Technician
Email: monica.sales@imdea.org

Marcos Rodríguez Sánchez

Position: Research Assistant
Education: M. Sc.: Technical University of Eindhoven
Research: Additive manufacturing of soft magnetic materials
Email: marcos.rodriguez@imdea.org

Dr. Davide Mocerino

Position: Research Associate
Education: M.Eng.: University of Naples Federico II, Italy
Research: Manufacturing of structural composites by resin injection.
Email: davide.mocerino@imdea.org

Miguel Hernández

Position: Research Assistant
Education: M.Sc.: Technical University of Madrid, Spain
Research: Development and application of software tools for analysis of dynamic porosity in porous polymer materials
Email: miguel.hernandez@imdea.org

Dr. Christina Schenk

Position: Research Associate
Education: Ph.D.: Trier University, Germany
Research: Modelling of pandemics and machine learning for diffusive control.
Email: christina.schenk@imdea.org

Dr. Bruno F. Gomes

Position: Research Associate
Education: Ph.D.: Udine University, Italy
Research: Nanoparticles and micropartcles for therapeutic applications.
Email: bruno.gomes@imdea.org

Dr. Viktoriia Sevostianova

Position: Research Associate
Education: Ph.D.: Medical Sciences, Research Institute for Complex Issues of Cardiovascular Diseases, Russia
Research: 3D in vitro models of airway tissues.
Email: viktoriia.sevostianova@imdea.org

Dr. Pedro J. Navarrete

Position: Research Associate
Education: Ph.D.: Touluse University, France
Research: Proof-of-concept of a 3-dimensional multi-organoid-loaded bioinspired adhesive device for thymic tissue regeneration.
Email: pedro.navarrete@imdea.org

Shuanglan Du

Position: Research Assistant
Education: M.Sc: Sichuan University, China
Research: Marine-derived chitosan-based thermosensitive hydrogelsand their applications in anti-aging
Email: shuanglan.du@imdea.org

Mingyang Zhang

Position: Research Assistant
Education: MSc. University of Science and Technology of China, China
Research: New generation fire retardant materials for Lithium-ion battery
Email: mingyang.zhang@imdea.org

Dr. Alireza Rezaei

Position: Research Associate
Education: Ph.D.: Materials Science and Engineerings, Tehran University, Iran
Research: New aspects of physical/mechanical metallurgy
Email: alireza.rezaei@imdea.org

Dr. Sunan Tian

Position: Research Associate
Research: High performance polymers and fire retardants
Email: sunan.tian@imdea.org

Dr. David Tilve Martínez

Position: Research Associate
Education: Ph.D.: 3D printing and electromagnetic properties of conductive nanocomposites, Paul Pascal Research Center, Bourdeaux
Research: Liquid processing of nanowires
Email: david.tilve@imdea.org

Xiang Ao

Position: Research Assistant
Education: M.Sc.: Donghua University, China
Research: Fire behaviors of composite materials
Email: xiang.ao@imdea.org

Dr. Pietro Antonio Martelli

Position: Research Associate
Education: Ph.D.: Materials Science and Engineering, Polytechnic University of Turin, Italy
Research: Characterisation of steels processed with additive manufacturing.
Email: pietro.martelli@imdea.org

Dr. Mahdi Sabbaghian

Position: Research Associate
Education: Ph.D.: Materials Science and Engineering, University of Tehran, Iran
Research: Biodegradable magnesium alloys which fabricated by additive manufacturing
Email: mahdi.sabbaghian@imdea.org

Dr. Manuel Avella

Position: Electron microscopy of advanced materials
Education: Ph.D: University of Valladolid, Spain
Email: manuel.avella@imdea.org

José Manuel Torralba

Position: Sustainable Powder Technologies
Education: PhD: Technical University of Madrid & PhD: Army Advanced Technical School
Email: josemanuel.torralba@imdea.org

Dr. Covadonga Rosado

Position: Manager
Education: MBA: ICADE Business School, Spain / PhD: Dechema e.V., Germany / Complutense University of Madrid, Spain
Email: covadonga.rosado@imdea.org

Rosa María Bazán

Position: HR Manager
Education: B.Sc: Complutense University of Madrid, Spain
Email: rosa.bazan@imdea.org

Mar García

Position: Financial manager
Education: B.Econ. and Business Administration, Autonomous University of Madrid / M.Econ-Financial Management, ESADE Business School
Email: mar.garcia@imdea.org

Miguel Angel Rodiel

Position: Director of Projects and Technology
Education: M.Sc. in Chemistry, University of Valencia, Spain / Master in Innovation Management, Technical University of Madrid, Spain

Dr. Germán Infante

Position: Head of the Project Management Office
Education: PhD: Autonomous University of Madrid, Spain
Email: german.infante@imdea.org

Raúl Merchán

Position: IT manager
Email: raul.merchan@imdea.org

Dr. Eduardo Troche

Position: Head of the Technology Transfer and Innovation Office
Education: PhD: University of Vigo, Spain
Email: eduardo.troche@imdea.org

Vanessa Hernán-Gómez

Position: Accounting specialist
Email: vanessa.hernangomez@imdea.org

Mariana Huerta

Position: Public relations and events assistant
Email: mariana.huerta@imdea.org

Ainhoa Zapatero

Position: Administrative assistant
Email: ainhoa.zapatero@imdea.org

Blanca Moríñigo

Position: Project manager assistant
Education: University of Castilla-La Mancha
Email: blanca.morinigo@imdea.org

Silvia Rodríguez

Position: Administrative assistant
Email: silvia.rodriguez@imdea.org

Verónica Galán

Position: Project manager assistant
Education: B.Sc: Granada University, Spain
Email: veronica.galan@imdea.org

Jon Molina

Position: Micromechanics and Nanomechanics
Education: PhD: Universidad de Cambridge, Reino Unido
Email: jon.molina@imdea.org

Javier Llorca

Position: Bio/Chemo/Mechanics of Materials
Education: PhD: Technical University of Madrid, Spain
Email: javier.llorca@imdea.org

Ignacio Romero

Position: Computational Solid Mechanics
Education: PhD: University of California, Berkeley, USA
Email: ignacio.romero@imdea.org

María Teresa Pérez Prado

Position: Sustainable metallurgy
Education: PhD: Complutense University of Madrid. Spain
Email: teresa.perez.prado@imdea.org

Carlos González

Position: Structural Composites
Education: PhD: Technical University of Madrid, Spain
Email: carlosdaniel.gonzalez@imdea.org

Maciej Haranczyk

Position: Computational and Data-Driven Materials Discovery
Education: PhD: University of Gdansk, Poland
Email: maciej.haranczyk@imdea.org

Ilchat Sabirov

Position: Physical Simulation
Education: PhD: University of Leoben. Austria
Email: ilchat.sabirov@imdea.org